ICD-10 effective October 1, 2015:
What is ICD-10?

Prior to October 1, 2015, the U.S. health care system relied on a set of codes, referred to as ICD-9, to report diagnoses and in-patient procedures. Introduced in the late 1970s, the ICD-9 code set will be replaced by the more detailed ICD-10, with a deadline for the transition of October 1, 2015.

What is ICD-10? It's helpful first to know what ICD is. ICD stands for the International Classification of Diseases, and its codes hold critical information about epidemiology, managing health, and treating conditions.

Health care professionals use ICD codes to record and identify health conditions. Public health workers can use the recording of ICD codes to see trends in health, and track morbidity and mortality. And insurers use ICD codes to classify conditions and determine reimbursement.
The transition from ICD-9 to ICD-10 is huge, as it reflects a five-fold increase in diagnosis codes, to roughly 69,000 codes. Transitioning to ICD-10 is required by anyone covered by the Health Insurance Portability Accountability Act (HIPAA)—this includes doctors, hospitals and health insurance companies, all of whom rely on these codes for diagnosing patients and billing for services.

For your convenience:
  • The State’s listing of the Mental Health DSM-IV to ICD-10 crosswalk documents are “under construction” due to new State changes.
  • The SUD DSM-IV to ICD-10 crosswalk documents are “under construction” due to new State changes.

Phase I:
As of October 1, 2015, the InSyst update includes an ICD-10 “crosswalk”. Effective October 1, 2015, staff will continue to input the DSM-IV diagnosis code into the InSyst system on the Episode screen and the InSyst system will “cross-walk” back the ICD-10 diagnosis code on the Primary diagnosis only and display the ICD-10 code on the Episode screen – Please see the link for MHS and SUD:
SUD InSyst Episode Opening Screen:
MHS InSyst Episode Opening Screen:
For your convenience:

Phase II (TBA):
  • Ability to input ICD-10 diagnosis codes into the InSyst Episode screen.
  • ICD-10 will display on the MHS face sheet
  • Add ICD-10 to InSyst reports